Finally, some fun with the cello again.

Standard

I’m nearly done with the obnoxious etude section of the Feuillard book — just finishing up the last of them this week. I also have a new piece to work on (Yes, a piece!) which is a Gavotte by Corelli. I absolutely love it. It’s tons of fun and the crazy shifts are finally not feeling crazy and out of control, even the ones that are bigger than an octave. I understand now why the crazy difficult etudes came before this piece because without them I’d be totally lost. Now, however, this piece is just fun and I get to focus more on musicality because the technical skills were learned in the etudes.

That being said, I absolutely hated having nothing but etudes to work on for 2 months. It was torture to not have a single piece during that whole time. I certainly practiced a LOT less (about 1/3 of the amount I normally do) because I could only stand working on them for so long. I really do understand the value of them now (when they are appropriately assigned) for teaching new skills before learning a difficult piece. But nothing replaces the sheer joy of a piece that excites you every time you play it. (I also think it’s more enjoyable for the hubby to hear giggles and “This piece is so fun!!!” every few minutes instead of sighs and “Ohmygod this is awful!” every day.)

I’m also getting near the end of Feuillard — a short piece by Handel, a short piece by Harvelois, a couple etudes by Duport (blech!) and then 3 sonatas by Rombgerg. Then who knows what I’ll do next. My teacher has never taken anyone straight through Feuillard before, but has rather used it as a supplement to whatever the kiddos were working on for their school orchestras. So I’m not sure she has a plan either. Granted, at the slowed-down pace at which I’ve been learning this summer we may never have to figure out what to do next since it seems like I’ll never finish. But at least I’m finally working on real pieces again. 😀

One response »

  1. Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire
    in fact loved account your weblog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing on your feeds or even I fulfillment you get right of entry to constantly fast.

Leave a Reply

