I should have done this a long time ago!

Standard

As I’m sure all you guys know, I’ve been wanting new strings for a while but have been absurdly indecisive despite all sorts of awfulness coming from my gnarly old ones. Then our local music shop announced a big sale starting today which includes absolutely everything in the store. So guess who was there this morning buying herself new strings!

I decided to go with Dominants, contrary to everyone’s advice. It turns out that I made a very good decision. They’re super super SUPER easy to play, they are more focused than the Jargars (people kept telling me they would sound unfocused and muddled on my cello) and (seriously) sound twice as loud AND they have absolutely delicious overtones. Oh, and my wolf is almost entirely gone! Really. I just put them on, so they still sound un-broken-in but I get the feeling that they will just sound yummier a few days from now…

So why am I sitting here blogging instead of playing? Well, they keep stretching and I keep having to get them back up to pitch. Thought I’d let them sit a while before doing it again. C and G are pretty stable but D and A are being a bit pesky. Just giving them a break while they settle in. Hopefully they are more stable by my lesson later today!

Also: the winding on each string is different and the colors form a rainbow. How cool is that!! Now I get to look at a rainbow when I look at the winding!

Hopefully I continue to enjoy them and I’ll let everyone know how they do over time. 😀

7 responses »

    • I actually had one guy at Ifshins tell me that I should under no circumstance use synthetic core strings! He also told me that there *must* be something wrong with my cello because Jargars shouldn’t sound bright and wouldn’t believe me that my luthier, last he saw my cello, couldn’t find anything wrong and that my cello really just happens to have an excruciatingly bright sound!

      Luthiers say to use higher tension strings because they supposedly help new cellos like mine age better. Thus the dislike of Dominants.

      The advice I kept getting from all the “experts” was to use Helicores, even though I tried explaining to everyone that I’ve used them and don’t like them on my cello!!

      So, since no one would give me helpful advice, I scoured every corner of the internet for information about strings and came to the conclusion that I wanted to try Dominants. Thankfully it turns out that both my cello and I like them, which is fantastic since she and I almost always have differing opinions!

  1. Dominants and Larsens are on my to-try list once m Evahs wear out. My teacher plays these and her C string is to die for, all warm and rich like a mug of hot chocolate. Mmmm….

    Happy new strings day!

    • Les- good to hear from you – it’s been a while!

      So far the strings are still breaking in, which I wasn’t expecting to take quite so long. They’re definitely irritating to tune. Overnight they drop in pitch enough that the tuning pegs are necessary usually every other day at this point. They also seem to be more affected by changes in the other strings. I end up having to tune A then G because otherwise D will never get up to pitch. It’s really frustrating! They also have a metallic edge that is slowly going away, much more so than new Jargars did on my cello. Now, taking all that into account, they’re still way more enjoyable to play and listen to!

      • My old cello never ever went out of tune but my new one is far more picky. She ever so slowly goes flat as she warms up and then seems to go flatter still overnight in the case. But I’m a little spoilt since she came setup with geared tuning pegs – tuning is a 10 second job now. These Evahs have grown on me, even though they’re very unforgiving but I’m still lusting after those dominants 🙂

  2. You know, there seem to be as many different options on string choices as there are on bows… and well, cellos! Glad you followed your gut and found the right ones for you and your cello.

Leave a Reply

