Well, at least I got a decent night’s sleep…

Standard

Today has been one of those days, the kind where nothing cello-y goes right. Everything sounds just awful today, possibly related to my asthma which has been acting up a lot the last couple days. Kinda hard to play well when you’re gasping for breath… The extensions in my most recent song are absolutely killing me (the song is in E major) to the point that I have spent most of my practice time today wishing for a 7/8 size cello. Or not having short, stubby, inflexible fingers would work too. To top it off I really really really hate the song I’m supposed to be working on. Feuillard is really starting to get on my nerves to the point that I’m wishing I had to work out of Suzuki instead (surely it can’t be any worse!) I feel like I’m going to stab someone with my endpin if I have to play one more song that goes A phrase – B phrase – A phrase. Or A-A-B-C or A-B-A-C. Surely there has to be a better way than this. I know I suck at playing cello, but do I really have to be stuck playing obnoxious, emotionally uncomplex songs? Seriously, any of you out there who read my blog and are teachers, is there any alternative to Suzuki and Feuillard?

Leave a comment