Updates.

Standard

I’m still a bit sick, but I got in an hour and a half of celloing, which is alright. It’s been a weird day here — the sky fell down and the rain was falling up! Really! The cello was grumpy as can be and so was I, so we called it quits. I was feeling uninspired to practice today. The Haydn piece is about as good as I know how to make it at this point, the Schumann piece is more annoying than Twinkle Twinkle, and the Gluck piece just isn’t holding me emotionally in any way. The left hand business was harder than I expected at first, but my brain appears to have figured it out over my sick day. Now it’s just kind of “meh.” There’s plenty of work to be done, but nothing that seems impossible at the moment and nothing that is all that engaging.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been finding that Feuillard, while far preferable to Suzuki, is just leaving me wanting more. Some of the pieces in there are wonderful, but they always put in the shorted excerpt possible, which has gotten continuously more boring as each new song seems to have longer, more complicated, phases. I find myself wishing that I could work on longer pieces, but oh well. At least I’m getting closer to the end of the book.

Leave a Reply

