Duet With My Neighbor, Cello At The Luthier

Standard

I’ve not been feeling so well the last couple days, so I’ve been kinda lame in the blog department. I’ve been wanting to post about getting together with my neighbor again and playing Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring with him. Instead of a long and descriptive post, we’ll go with the short and dirty:
1. I realized while playing with him that I can now actually play the “hard” part even though a month ago it seemed years away.
2. He needs lots of guidance. Left to his own devices he’s bad habits in the making. I wish he was still studying with my teacher, but unfortunately his mom lost her job and can’t afford the lessons anymore. He gets free ones though someone in the school’s booster club, but this other teacher isn’t nearly as good.
3. Combine #1 and #2: I sounded like a recording of my teacher was coming out of my mouth.
4. I think I’m going to have to really learn his part so I can better help him because a) he wants and needs help and b) this song is way more fun than anything in Feuillard. And challenging. 😀

Cello’s with Devin today getting tweaked just a wee bit. I think this is the first time I haven’t actually missed her. That’s how you know I’m not feeling well. 😦

4 responses »

  1. The circle is now complete. When you last played together, you were but the learner, now you are the master.

    Sorry, Darth Vader moment.

  2. Ha! No, more like a manager than a teacher. Are you aware that you are doing X Y & Z? Um, yeah… Are you *meaning* to do X Y & Z? Um, no… What do you want to do instead of X Y & Z? How about A B & C. How are we going to accomplish A B & C? etc. He tried to rush through things really fast and is all excited, even if it sounds awful. There were a few sections where we had to take it triplet by triplet very slowly. I would play my note, have him agree that yes, it was in tune, then he would very slowly play his notes and adjust until he was in tune. Then we very very slowly sped it up until we were at speed. Then we’d go on to the next triplet, etc. He’s 15 and isn’t as good at self-management as adults are, so he needs someone to help him learn how to learn.

    So not a teacher at all, just a teenage cellist manager.

Leave a Reply

