First the wrist, now the shoulder.

Standard

So, the wrist isn’t precisely the same, but it’s not really better either. The sharp motion-specific pain now seems to be more general, achey, and tight, which I’m hoping means some sort of healing is happening in some way shape or form. My husband gave me an acupuncture treatment yesterday, which helped during and after for a few hours, but then the wrist started going all wonky again. I think I may be his most stubborn patient on record. I’d also been trying to wear a wrist brace, but it prevents motion in the directions that feel fine and allows it in the directions that hurt, so I gave up on that. I think a hard cast would help, but that’s a bit more permanent than I’d like, so we’ll go with pain for now.

Then yesterday my bad shoulder started to misbehave again. I’ve had problems with it since I was a child, which no one was ever able to determine the cause of (or solution to.) It’s the bowing shoulder, same side as the wrist, which is just awesome (although the left side is usable, which I’m glad of.) It isn’t particularly painful, it just is catching and POPPING about a zillion times worse than it ever has in the past, starting yesterday, the day after the wrist injury. Connected? Not sure, but coincidences aren’t usually that evil. My range of motion is somewhere in the negative, as in moving near-by joints such as the elbow often cause it to pop, and any actual movement of the shoulder itself guarantees at least one pop, sometimes multiple pops. The hubby has room in his schedule for me on Friday, though I really wish I could bug him today because this shoulder thing is ridiculous.
Okay, just called him on the phone, nice and pathetic like, and I’ll be visiting him in the afternoon. Yay! Now if only he could do a trade with one of the Chiropractors and one the Massage Therapists for me, then I’d be set.

Since this is a blog about the cello, what about the cello? I’ve been working on exercises for the left fingers/hand that my teacher said would be good for developing the strength and flexibility I need for extensions. I’m hoping to practice all the lefty stuff for my songs on the cello, sans the bow. We’ll see how that goes. At the very least it’ll be interesting to see how good I am at separating fingering fingering from bowing. For a long time we’d worked on making them connected motions, but now she wants me to work on separating them so that tension in one place doesn’t spiral out of control and end up as tension in every place. It could very well be the case that, now that I’ve learned to pat my head and rub my belly at the same time, I can’t do them separately anymore. Which would mean I need to practice that even more! So, we’ll see!

Strangely, having two injured joints is making me long for those days of frustration, the ones where the only reason I don’t destroy my cello is that I recognize it’s not the cello’s fault that she has such a terrible cellist. Sigh. Sometimes I don’t now if it’s better or worse that my joint problems aren’t from playing cello. If they were, it would mean I’m doing something seriously wrong technique-wise. While that is truly not good, bad technique is something that can be corrected, particularly at this stage where I’ve been playing for such a short amount of time. Non cello-related injury is good in the sense of at-least-I-don’t-have-*that*-bad-of-technique, but is super bad in the sense of what-if-this-doesn’t-get-better-and-I-can-never-play-cello-again panic. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

