Breakthrough

Standard

This week has been awful for me practice-wise. Everything I’ve tried has failed, to the point where I actually rubber-banded my thumb behind the neck of the cello while working in 5th position because it wouldn’t stay put (if that failed I was prepared to tape my thumb back there!) I was terrified that I’d hit some sort of plateau because I’d been making absolutely zero progress on anything for several days in a row, which has NEVER happened. Now, suddenly, everything is comfortable up through 5th position, I’m succeeding at shifts I normally fail at, my dynamics not only seem to make sense but I’m adding little nuances of articulation that normally take forever to figure out, and my timing has miraculously gotten better. Can I have more days like this? Now, I’m just waiting for my weekly lesson, so that my teacher can tear it all apart again!

Leave a Reply

