Dynamics

Standard

My teacher sent me home this week with three songs desperately in need of dynamics. Unfortunately for me, the reason they didn’t already have them was due to me not having a clue where to start. I spent until yesterday frustrated beyond belief, having analyzed all the harmonies as she requested and ending up more confused than when I started. So, today I decided to try singing the melodies, totally off key with absurd dynamics, bad American Idol audition style. Surprisingly, my ears have not started bleeding, I actually hit a few right notes, and I came up with some reasonable dynamics for a couple of the songs.

2 responses »

  1. Isn’t it interesting how naturally we express music using our voices, and how difficult that can be as we are learning to play the cello?

    BTW, I can’t imagine your teacher would be anything but supportive about your studying theory. Saves a lot of time in lessons, too.

  2. It doesn’t save time, and actually makes her talk to me more about theory, because I’m able to understand more!

    I don’t think it’s odd at all: we have been using our voices to express ourselves since we were born. I think it’s pretty natural. I wonder about people who started playing as toddlers, if it’s as natural to them, or if they still need to use voice to think about expression.

Leave a Reply

