A nifty musical resource!

Standard

Today, as frequently happens, I was wondering what some of the notations in my music meant. sec and soutenu really kinda had me. I can generally figure it out if the word is Italian, since I did take several years in college. French, however, stumps me every time. Somehow I’ve managed to not end up buying a musical dictionary in all this time (I do however have one on my Amazon wish list, so hopefully someone does it for me!) So, I thought I would google “music dictionary” and see what came up. Lo and behold! A really nifty online dictionary from Virginia Tech! It didn’t have soutenu but it did have sec, which was quite helpful. It was surprisingly comprehensive and is wonderfully free!

Leave a Reply

